Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts Books
Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts Books

Three most recent books of the Harry Potter universe are The Tales of Beedle the Bard released as supplement to the Harry Potter series on December 4, 2008, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child play written by Jack Thorne released on 31 July 2016 and upcoming Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them film script to be released on 19 November 2016.

Other Books Taking Part in Harry Potter Universe

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is the first book in the series, was published in UK on June 30, 1997. This is one of the best-selling books in history; estimates of its global sales exceed 110 million copies. In the spring of 2007, a first edition signed by Rowling was auctioned in London for £ 27,876.13

In this first work most of the main characters in the series are introduced, as well as many of the places where the action will take place. They narrate Harry’s first steps in the world of magic and his first confrontation with Voldemort, who is in his quest for immortality and wants to get the power of the Philosopher’s Stone.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was originally published on July 2, 1998. Many of the elements of the first draft of this book were eliminated by its author as the editor. In addition, the book has an important thematic relationship with the sixth book. Much of the information that would be revealed in this episode was shifted to the sixth part. As a result, many of the items that appear on a daily basis in the secret chamber appear in Half-Blood Prince with their true relevance once again.

The book recounts the second year of Harry at Hogwarts, during which messages appear on the walls of the school corridors warning that the Chamber of Secrets has been opened, followed by a series of attacks on students who do not come from families with full magical blood. In this step the writer introduced the figure of the house-elf and relevant characters for the rest of the series, such as Lucius Malfoy, Ginny Weasley and Arthur Weasley, besides revealing a little more about Voldemort’s past through his diary.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban was published in English on July 8, 1999. This is the book that Rowling has written the fastest so far, as she has finished the book just one year after she started to write. She was also credited for the Costa Award and the Bram Stoker Award, among others, that place it as one of the most successful fantasy books in recent decades.

This time the figure of Dementor and the characters Remus Lupin and Sirius Black, who at the beginning of the novel escapes from Azkaban prison are introduced. And the story of Harry’s parents are developed more. It is the only book in the series in which Voldemort does not appear.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire was published in English on July 8, 2000. The size of the book is increased considerably when compared to the first three, a fact which Rowling was aware since the conception of the novel. The title went through several changes, among which included Harry Potter and the Doomspell Tournament, Harry Potter and the Triwizard Tournament until the author leaned to Goblet of Fire when she remembered the concept of “cup of destiny”, which according to her was the subject of the book. The novel has won the Hugo Award for best novel in 2001.

This time, the book tells Harry’s fourth year at Hogwarts and the mystery surrounding the involuntary admission of his name in the Triwizard Tournament, in which he is forced to compete with two other participants. The story explores further the magical world and ends with the resurgence of Lord Voldemort. Too much controversy and speculation have emerged prior to the publication of the book, when the author announced that a character would die.


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is nearly 900 pages and is the longest book in the series, a fact that the author herself considered as a defacto. It was published worldwide in English on June 21, 2003.

In the fifth book, Harry Potter must confront both a resurgent Voldemort and the rest of the wizarding world that refuses to believe that this is true, starting with the Ministry of Magic. This appoints Dolores Umbridge as the new director of Hogwarts, and along with Lovegood Moon and Bellatrix Lestrange are the three most important characters are introduced in this release. Furthermore, an important prophecy concerning Harry and Voldemort is revealed.


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince was published in English on 16 July 2005 and was presented by Rowling in a press conference reserved only for children between 8 and 16 years. Almost a year before the book’s original publication, Rowling had disclosed her willingness to kill another character in her official website. This made a madness of bets rise among the fans of the series.

In this sixth part, Harry meets an old textbook filled with annotations and recommendations signed by a mysterious prince of potions. At the same time, Harry receives mentoring by the director of the school, Albus Dumbledore. Dumbledore teaches Harry moments from the past of Voldemort in order to show how to use Horcruxes, elementary objects to achieve victory. At the end of the book, Professor Severus Snape, whose loyalty was in doubt throughout the series, kills Dumbledore. Snape kills Dumbledore phrase became an Internet phenomenon that prompted all kinds of media.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

The seventh and the final novel, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was published in English on July 21, 2007, closing the series that lasted a decade. The book broke sales records, with more than 11 million copies sold in its first 48 hours, only in the UK and the United States.

This latest book chronicles the events directly following the death of Dumbledore, in which Voldemort finalizes its rise to power and manages to dominate the Ministry of Magic. Harry and his friends decide to not to attend their final year at Hogwarts, to go out in search of the remaining Horcruxes. Finally, the Battle of Hogwarts takes place, including the Order of the Phoenix, students and teachers at the school, on one side, and Voldemort and the Death Eaters, on the other. The novel ends with an epilogue that has the future of the surviving characters 19 years after the confrontation, showing that each of them has shaped their lives.


Quidditch Through the Ages

Quidditch Through the Ages was published jointly with the former, and pursued the same charity. In this work, the book is a manual on the rules and history of Quidditch, the most popular sport among magicians. Although it appears in the series as a Christmas present from Hermione to Harry, the book is designed as a copy of the Hogwarts library, with a somewhat rumpled appearance and with a sticker detailing students who have applied for loan before.